Workers’ compensation insurance is required in almost every state for businesses that have employees. It can cover medical costs and lost wages for work-related injuries.
If a janitor slips on wet floor tiles and hurts her back, or a carpet cleaner trips on a flight of stairs and breaks his arm, it could cost thousands of dollars in medical expenses. Workers’ compensation insurance can cover medical bills if an employee is injured on the job or develops an occupational illness. It also ensures the employee still gets paid while recovering from an injury.
Workers’ compensation insurance provides coverage in three primary areas:
When an employee is injured, your cleaning business could be held liable. Workers’ compensation insurance helps cover:
Typically included in a workers’ comp policy, employer’s liability insurance provides protection for business owners if an employee decides to sue over a work-related injury.
For example, one of your window washers complains of vertigo and requests modified duty. If you aren’t able to accommodate his request and he ends up falling off a ladder, he could sue. In that case, employer’s liability insurance can help cover:
Even if a lawsuit is frivolous, without workers’ comp coverage, you could find yourself paying for a costly legal defense.
The amount you pay for workers’ compensation is a specific rate based on every $100 of your business’s payroll. Your premium is determined by the type of work done by your employees (classification rate), your experience modification rate (claims history), and your payroll (per $100).
The formula is:
Classification rate x Experience modification rate x (Payroll / 100) = Premium
Workers’ comp laws are decided at the state level, which means the rules will depend on where your business is based. For example, cleaning businesses in Florida are not required to purchase workers’ comp coverage unless they have four or more employees. However, cleaning businesses in New York are mandated to purchase a policy if they have even one part-time employee.
While self-employed or independent contractors, sole proprietors, and partners don’t have to carry workers’ compensation insurance, you can purchase a policy to protect yourself, too.
Learn more about workers’ compensation laws in your state.
In certain states, businesses must purchase workers’ compensation insurance through a monopolistic state fund. Those states are:
If you purchase workers’ comp through a monopolistic state fund, it may not include employer’s liability insurance. However, you can purchase it from a private insurer to fill this gap in coverage.
If carpet cleaner suffers a back injury while moving a heavy couch, or a house cleaner develops breathing problems from years of exposure to toxic cleaning chemicals, it could lead to an insurance claim – and a rise in your premiums.
To help prevent workplace injuries, cleaning service business owners should provide safety training and protective equipment for all employees. This can also potentially reduce your insurance rates.
Workers’ compensation insurance protects your employees and to some extent your business, but it doesn’t cover every risk. Owners of cleaning businesses should also consider purchasing:
General liability insurance: This policy helps cover expenses if a client slips on a wet floor after you mop, or you break a valuable keepsake while dusting. Your clients may require this type of insurance in their contracts.
Commercial auto insurance: Commercial auto insurance protects vehicles owned by your business. It can cover injuries and property damage in an accident, theft of a company vehicle, and certain types of vehicle damage.
Janitorial bonds: Also known as employee dishonesty bonds, janitorial bonds protect your clients from employee theft. Some clients won’t hire your company unless you have this coverage.
Are you ready to protect your cleaning business with workers’ compensation insurance? Complete Insureon’s easy online application today to compare quotes from top U.S. carriers. Once you find the right policy, you can begin coverage in less than 24 hours.