Arkansas requires businesses to carry workers’ compensation insurance if they have more than three employees.
Who needs workers’ comp insurance in Arkansas?
Any business with three or more employees is required to carry workers’ compensation insurance in Arkansas. Some businesses with fewer than three employees are required to carry workers’ comp coverage if they work in an especially risky industry, such as construction.
Employers in Arkansas are required to pay the full amount of the workers’ compensation policy cost. It cannot be deducted from the worker’s pay.
Who is not required to have workers’ comp insurance in Arkansas?
Farm laborers and real estate agents are not required to be covered by workers’ compensation. Domestic workers or employees of religious, nonprofit, or charitable organizations are not required to have coverage either.
A self-employed person in Arkansas is also not required to carry workers’ compensation insurance but may opt to voluntarily purchase a policy.
What is the average cost of workers’ compensation insurance in Arkansas?
Estimated employer costs for workers' compensation in Arkansas are $0.74 per $100 covered in payroll.
Costs are based on the level of risk associated with the job. Some employers will have a variety of workers’ compensation class codes, which help insurers determine exposure to risk. Your business might have some office staff whose workers’ comp costs are lower than employees who work outside of your office and face more risks.
What are the penalties for not having workers’ comp insurance in Arkansas?
Employers who fail to carry the required coverage will be required to pay fines as a penalty to the state. In addition, they will lose protections provided by the Arkansas Workers’ Compensation Commission.
Workers’ compensation death benefits in Arkansas
Death benefits are available to family members who are financially dependent on an employee who dies after a work-related injury or illness. If there are no surviving dependents, benefits could be awarded to partial dependents.
A dependent could be the deceased worker’s:
Workers’ compensation pays benefits in the amount of 67% of the deceased worker’s average weekly wage based on a maximum that changes each year. The surviving dependents receive that amount divided among them.
Workers’ comp settlements in Arkansas
A workers’ compensation settlement is an agreement between the parties that will resolve your workers’ compensation claim. This benefits both the employee and the employer.
With a workers’ comp settlement, the injured worker can receive a lump-sum payment that covers medical expenses, ongoing treatments or therapies, and past and future lost wages.
The employer then is free from the claim, and the employee can no longer bring additional claims for that injury.
A workers’ compensation claim can cover an injury from a single accident or injuries that take place over long periods of time like repetitive motion disorders, job-related hearing loss, or occupational diseases such as mesothelioma.
Workers’ compensation statute of limitations in Arkansas
The statute of limitations is the amount of time a worker has to file a claim following an injury.
In Arkansas, the workers’ compensation statute of limitations is two years from the date of injury or from the date that the worker should have known that an injury or condition developed as a result of job conditions.
Compare free workers’ comp quotes with Insureon
Start a free online application today to compare workers’ compensation insurance quotes for your small business from leading U.S. carriers. Insureon’s licensed agents specialize in insurance for a variety of Arkansas businesses.