Workers’ compensation insurance is required in almost every state for businesses that have employees. It can cover medical costs and lost wages for work-related injuries.
In a busy kitchen, cuts and burns are almost inevitable. An injury at a restaurant, bakery, or food truck can lead to an expensive hospital bill and time off work, which can mean huge financial losses. Workers’ compensation helps pay an injured worker’s medical expenses and also recoups partial missed wages.
Typically included in your workers’ comp policy, employer’s liability insurance provides protection when an employee says you are liable for an injury and decides to sue.
Employer’s liability insurance can help cover:
Even if a lawsuit is frivolous, you could find yourself paying for a costly legal defense. That means it’s worth getting workers’ comp even if you consider your restaurant, bar, or catering business low-risk. In most states, it's also required by law if you have employees.
The amount you pay for workers’ compensation is a specific rate for every $100 of your business’s payroll. Your premium is determined by the type of work done by your employees (classification rate), your experience modification rate (claims history), and payroll (per $100).
The formula is:
Classification rate x Experience modification rate x (Payroll / 100) = Premium
Each state sets its own laws for workers’ compensation requirements. For example, every restaurant in New York must carry workers’ compensation insurance for its employees – even part-time workers and family members. However, Alabama restaurants are only required to carry workers’ compensation when they have five or more employees.
Self-employed or independent contractors, sole proprietors, and partners typically don’t have to carry workers’ compensation insurance, but you can purchase a policy to protect yourself, too.
Learn more about workers’ compensation laws in your state.
In certain states, restaurants, bars, and other food service businesses must purchase workers’ compensation insurance through a monopolistic state fund. Those states are:
If you purchase workers’ comp through a monopolistic state fund, it may not include employer’s liability insurance. However, you can purchase it from a private insurer to fill this gap in coverage.
Every day, your workers place themselves at risk. Kitchens, restaurants, and bars are full of opportunities for serious injury. More accidents mean more insurance claims – and that makes the cost of your insurance go up.
Whether you’re the owner of a restaurant, bar, deli, or concession stand, you can control your business’s risks. By providing safety training to your employees, developing a safe work environment, and other techniques, you can reduce workplace injuries along with insurance rates.
Learn more about risk management strategies for restaurants and other food and beverage businesses.
Workers’ compensation offers protection for your employees and your business, but it doesn’t provide coverage for all risks. Business owners should also consider:
Business owner’s policy: A BOP defends against the most common risks in the food service industry. It bundles general liability insurance with commercial property insurance at a lower rate than purchasing both policies separately.
Commercial auto insurance: This policy is important for food and beverage businesses that regularly transport food or equipment. It can cover expenses related to accidents or damages involving vehicles owned by your business or personal vehicles that are used for business purposes.
General liability insurance: This policy protects against common risks, such as customer injury or damage to customer property. It’s often a requirement for a commercial lease.
Liquor liability insurance: This policy covers risks involved with serving alcohol, such as an intoxicated customer damaging another customer’s property or causing an injury.
Are you ready to safeguard your food service business with workers’ compensation or another type of insurance? Complete Insureon’s free online application to compare quotes from top U.S. carriers. Once you find the right policy, you can begin coverage in less than 24 hours.