Workers' compensation insurance is required for all Florida businesses with four or more employees. Construction businesses must have coverage for every employee.
It’s important for business owners to know the requirements for workers’ compensation insurance. Florida workers’ comp law mandates that you carry this insurance if your business has more than four employees. However, construction businesses in Florida must carry this coverage for every employee.
Workers’ compensation is a crucial part of small business insurance because it can cover medical bills, recovery costs, and partial missed wages if an employee is injured at work. It can also cover funeral costs and benefits to an employee’s family in the event of a fatality on the job.
By mandating workers’ comp insurance, Florida officials provide an incentive for businesses to keep employees safe and reduce the risk of lawsuits against business owners. That means that your small business insurance can:
Florida law states that workers’ compensation insurance is required when a business has four or more employees, either full- or part-time.
There are special considerations for some employees, including corporate officers:
So, do you need workers’ comp for part-time employees? Unless they fall into one of the three exceptions above, the answer is yes. Independent contractors are not considered employees, and an employer is not required to carry workers’ compensation insurance for those individuals unless they are in the construction industry.
Insureon helps a variety of industries compare quotes and buy Florida workers’ compensation insurance policies. Whether you own a dental practice, photography studio, convenience store, or something altogether different, we can help you find a policy to meet your business needs. Start a free online application today.
Whether or not a self-employed person is required to have workers’ compensation insurance depends on the nature of the work being performed.
Florida requires that even self-employed workers in the construction industry carry workers’ compensation insurance. If you’re in an industry that has less risk of physical injury and you have no employees, you might still decide that it’s a good idea to have coverage.
Even though you have medical insurance, if you get injured on the job, workers’ compensation coverage can help with lost wages and other expenses that would not be covered under your regular medical policy.
Employers that operate without the required workers’ comp coverage risk civil penalties. Usually, that means that the business would be subject to a stop-work order that requires all operations to stop until it complies with the law and pays a penalty. The fee is typically equal to twice the amount the employer would have paid in premium for the preceding two-year period.
If the employer does not comply with a stop-work order, the action could result in criminal charges. You could also be subject to a stop-work order if:
Workers’ compensation insurance costs vary by state, just like states differ with respect to who needs workers’ comp coverage. Estimated employer costs for workers' compensation in Florida are $1.43 per $100 covered in payroll.
However, because jobs have different risk factors, some insurance policies will be more expensive than others. The National Council on Compensation Insurance provides hundreds of codes that are used to identify jobs. Those with a higher risk of physical injury will have higher insurance premiums than those that are less likely to result in injury.
Learn more about insurance costs for workers’ comp and other policies with Insureon’s insurance cost analysis page.
Each state has certain nuances to its workers’ comp law, and Florida workers’ compensation is no exception. However, there are some general concepts as to how the process works.
If an employee is injured on the job, it’s likely that costs will be incurred that need to be covered by workers’ comp insurance. Costs could include:
After an injury or illness, the employee can make a claim against the employer’s workers’ compensation insurance policy. If accepted by the insurance company, the employee could receive funds to cover medical expenses and a disability payment plan.
If an employee dies as a result of a work-related accident within one year from the date of the accident or within five years of continuous disability, benefits could be owed to the employee’s survivors. The family of the deceased employee could be entitled to:
In some cases, an employee might try to negotiate for a larger workers’ comp settlement.
If an injured employee decides to escalate a claim to a larger settlement negotiation, the employer should remain involved in that discussion to reduce liability in a lawsuit if one arises.
Before an insurance company will settle a claim, it will ask the employee and his or her attorney to calculate the total amount of anticipated related expenses.
The insurance company won’t simply pay a settlement based on all of these calculations. Often, the insurance company and the employee’s attorney will spend some time negotiating before reaching a settlement that is agreeable to all parties. If they can’t reach an agreement, there could be a hearing or lawsuit.
Statutes of limitations are designed to protect against claims that are filed too long after an injury has occurred. Florida laws state that an employee cannot claim benefits, receive medical treatment, or sue for lost wages if the period is more than two years from the date of injury.
There are a few exceptions to the two-year statute of limitations:
The primary regulatory agency for Florida workers’ compensation claims is the Division of Workers’ Compensation, which is a part of the office of Florida’s Chief Financial Officer.
Insureon makes it easy for business owners to compare workers’ compensation policy quotes online. Complete one easy application to review multiple quotes specific to your business and industry from leading U.S. carriers. Start an application for a workers’ compensation insurance quote today.