California state law requires businesses with any employees, full-time or part-time, to carry workers’ compensation insurance. This policy covers medical bills for work injuries and illnesses.
All business-owned vehicles in California must be covered by commercial auto insurance. California requires $5,000 property damage liability per accident, $15,000 bodily injury / death liability per person, and $30,000 bodily injury / death liability to more than one person.
Though it's not required, personal vehicles driven for work purposes should be covered by hired and non-owned auto insurance, as personal auto policies usually exclude business use. It can be added to general liability insurance or a business owner's policy.
Don't see your profession listed? Find more professions.
In California, insurance agents, agencies, and brokers are licensed by the California Department of Insurance. Insureon is licensed in California as BIN Insurance Holdings LLC (NPN 15752926; license 0G11129) for property and casualty insurance and for surplus lines. Verify our licensure with the California Department of Insurance License Number Search.