Workers' Compensation Laws in New York
In New York, virtually all employers must provide Workers' Compensation coverage for their employees. In a for-profit business, all types of employees must be covered, including family members, part-time and full-time workers, and leased employees. Most workers paid by non-profit organizations must also be covered.
NY Workers' Comp: Key Details
- Workers' Comp is not required for sole proprietors or partners with no employees in New York. However, they can purchase the coverage for themselves.
- New York operates a competitive state fund, the State Insurance Fund (SIF). It is a not-for-profit agency of the State of New York and provides a guaranteed source of Workers' Compensation Insurance coverage at the lowest possible cost to employers within New York State.
- Businesses can self-insure (upon approval) and may also purchase coverage through a private carrier.
- For failing to have workers' comp, employers in New York face a penalty of $2,000 for every 10 days without coverage. You could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, with fines ranging from $1,000 to $50,000.
Find out additional information about Workers' Compensation in New York from the Workers' Compensation Board of New York.