Virginia state law requires businesses with two or more employees, full-time or part-time, to carry workers’ compensation insurance. In the construction industry, businesses with even one employee must provide workers’ comp. This policy covers medical bills for work injuries and illnesses.
All drivers in Virginia must have a way to pay for injuries or property damage resulting from a car accident even though they are not required to have commercial auto insurance. Minimum car insurance is a way to meet this requirement. Virginia's minimums are $25,000 bodily liability per person, $50,000 bodily liability per person, and $20,000 property damage liability per accident.
Though it's not required, personal vehicles driven for work purposes should be covered by hired and non-owned auto insurance, as personal auto policies usually exclude business use. It can be added to general liability insurance or a business owner's policy.
Commercial auto insurance pays for medical bills and other damages in accidents involving business-owned vehicles. It also covers vehicle theft, vandalism, and other types of damage.