With a few exceptions, West Virginia state law requires businesses with one or more employees, full-time or part-time, to carry workers’ compensation insurance. Independent contractors are exempt from this requirement. This policy covers medical bills for work injuries and illnesses.
All business-owned vehicles in West Virginia must be covered by commercial auto insurance. West Virginia requires a minimum of $25,000 bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident, $10,000 property damage liability per accident, and $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage per person.
Though it's not required, personal vehicles driven for work purposes should be covered by hired and non-owned auto insurance, as personal auto policies usually exclude business use. It can be added to general liability insurance or a business owner's policy.
In West Virginia, insurance agents, agencies, and brokers are licensed by the West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner. Insureon is licensed in West Virginia as BIN Insurance Holdings LLC (NPN 15752926) for property and casualty insurance (license number 100107323). Verify our licensure with the National Association of Insurance Commissioners by selecting West Virginia, Licensee, Business Entity, and then entering our license number.