Michigan state law requires businesses with one or more full-time employees or three or more part-time employees to carry workers’ compensation insurance. This policy covers medical bills for work injuries and illnesses.
All business-owned vehicles in Michigan must be covered by commercial auto insurance. Michigan requires $20,000 bodily injury liability per person, $40,000 bodily injury liability per accident, and $10,000 property damage liability per accident.
Though it's not required, personal vehicles driven for work purposes should be covered by hired and non-owned auto insurance, as personal auto policies usually exclude business use. It can be added to general liability insurance or a business owner's policy.
Don't see your profession listed? Find more professions.
In Michigan, insurance agents, agencies, and brokers are licensed by the state’s Department of Insurance and Financial Services. Insureon is licensed in Michigan as BIN Insurance Holdings, LLC (NPN 15752926) for property and casualty insurance and for surplus lines. You can verify our licensure with the Department of Insurance and Financial Services on its insurance search page by entering our Michigan state ID, 0092090, into the "System ID Number” field.