Learn about business insurance requirements and the most common policies for photographers and videographers in North Carolina.
A property manager may require you to purchase general liability insurance before signing a lease with your photo or video business. It's one of the most common policies purchased by photographers and videographers in North Carolina because it can protect you from expenses associated with common mishaps, such as client property damage and injuries.
Your clients may require professional liability insurance in a contract. Also called errors and omissions insurance, professional liability insurance provides financial protection if a client files a lawsuit claiming your work was late, erroneous, or incomplete.
State law in North Carolina requires every small business with three or more employees to provide workers’ compensation coverage, and business-owned vehicles must be covered by commercial auto insurance.
Photographers and videographers in North Carolina most often buy the following types of insurance. The exact coverage you need depends on the specifics of your business, such as whether you hire employees or drive for work.
General liability insurance is the foundation of a photographer or videographer’s business protection, with coverage that extends to client injuries, client property damage, and advertising injuries. Most commercial leases require you to have this coverage.
Photographers and videographers in North Carolina sometimes qualify for a business owner’s policy, or BOP. This package helps your business save money by bundling commercial property insurance with general liability coverage at an affordable rate.
Many clients require proof of professional liability insurance before entering into contracts for professional services. This policy, also called photographer liability insurance or errors and omissions insurance (E&O), can help cover legal expenses if you’re sued for unsatisfactory performance or a work mistake.
If you own a photography or video production business in North Carolina and have three or more workers, you are required to carry workers’ compensation coverage. If you are a sole proprietor, the coverage is optional. However, if you trip over a light stand and break an arm at your studio, or develop a repetitive stress injury from your work, you can turn to your workers’ comp policy to help pay your medical bills and lost wages.
Any North Carolina business that owns a vehicle must carry commercial auto insurance, which covers expenses in the event of an accident. Photographers and videographers who drive their own vehicle for work, or rent or lease a business vehicle, can opt for hired and non-owned auto insurance instead.
While property insurance covers equipment that stays at your primary business location, inland marine insurance can cover items you use in the field, such as cameras and lighting equipment you take to photograph a wedding. These items move from location to location, which exposes them to more opportunities for loss, damage, and theft. That’s why they require special coverage.
Despite the state’s pro-business climate, photographers and videographers in North Carolina can expect to pay slightly more for business insurance than the national median, according to an analysis of Insureon applications.
Workers’ compensation is typically $1,143 annually or about $95 per month, the most expensive policy for photographers and videographers in North Carolina. Small businesses with fewer than three employees may be tempted to go without workers’ comp. This would save money in the short term, but in the long term, not having it could be financially devastating for your business.
However, photo and video business in North Carolina can expect to pay less than $500 annually for general liability insurance, which is below the national median cost for that policy.
Insureon’s industry-leading technology helps photo and video professionals in North Carolina save time and money shopping for insurance by comparing policies from top U.S. carriers. Start a free online application to review quotes for the policies that best fit your business. Our insurance agents are licensed in North Carolina and can answer your questions as you consider coverage.
To make the application go quicker, have this information ready:
Apply for free photographer or videographer insurance quotes today.