See the latest developments on COVID-19 and small business insurance. Read our coronavirus FAQs.

Facebook iconTwitter iconLinkedIn iconEmail icon

Insurance for nurses in Texas

Learn about business insurance requirements and the most common policies for nurses in Texas.

Which policies are required for nurses in Texas?

If you have a commercial lease, your property manager may require you to purchase general liability insurance. Commonly purchased by nurses in Texas, general liability insurance can protect your business from expenses associated with common mishaps, such as client property damage and injuries.

Texas state law does not mandate employers to carry workers’ compensation coverage, though “non-subscribers” are required to report their status to the state workers’ comp agency.

Note: Insureon cannot provide quotes for professional liability insurance for nurses, also called malpractice insurance.

Compare business insurance quotes for nurses from top U.S. carriers

What are the most common policies for nurses in Texas?

The most common policies for nurses in Texas vary depending on revenue, client contracts, partnerships, and other factors.

General liability insurance icon

General liability insurance

General liability insurance is the foundation of a nurse’s business protection, with coverage that extends to client injuries, client property damage, and advertising injuries. Most commercial leases require you to have this coverage.

Professional liability insurance icon

Professional liability insurance

Also called malpractice insurance, professional liability insurance for nurses protects against claims that your work caused harm. That could include accidentally administering the wrong medication, or a baseless claim that you mistreated a patient.

Business owner’s policy icon

Business owner's policy (BOP)

Nurses sometimes qualify for a business owner’s policy. This package helps your business save money by bundling commercial property insurance with general liability at an affordable rate.

Workers’ compensation insurance icon

Texas workers' compensation

Texas state law does not mandate employers to carry workers’ compensation coverage, though “non-subscribers” are required to report their status to the state workers’ comp agency. However, if you slip and break an arm in your office, or injure your back lifting a patient, you can turn to your workers’ comp policy to help pay your medical bills and lost wages.

What do nurses in Texas pay for business insurance?

According to an analysis of Insureon applications, the typical nurse in Texas can expect to pay less than the national median for business insurance. For example, the median annual cost of workers’ compensation for a nurse in the state is $414, less than half the national median of $1,019.

Median insurance costs for nurses in Texas.

Save time and money with Insureon

Insureon’s industry-leading technology helps nurses in Texas save time and money shopping for insurance by comparing policies from top U.S. carriers. Start a free online application to review quotes for the policies that best fit your business. Our insurance agents are licensed in Texas and can answer your questions as you consider coverage.

To make the application go quicker, have this information ready:

  • Workforce details, such as the number and types of employees
  • Current and projected revenue
  • Business partnerships
  • Insurance history and prior claims
  • Commercial lease insurance requirements

Apply for free insurance quotes for nurses today.

Compare insurance quotes for nurses
Save money by comparing insurance quotes from multiple carriers.
Learn More
Business insurance requirements in TexasCommon questions about certificates of liability insurance What is malpractice (professional liability)?What are insurance premiums, policy limits, and deductibles?Questions to ask before buying business insurance
Topics