Each state has its own laws and regulations for cannabis business insurance. In Connecticut, cannabis is approved for both medical and adult recreational use. Dispensaries may need a surety bond or proof of assets to operate in the state.
In Connecticut, cannabis businesses are regulated by the Department of Consumer Protection (DCP). The DCP may require your cannabis business to carry a surety bond or provide proof of assets to get licensed.
Specifically, medical marijuana producers are required to carry a $2 million surety bond to build a production facility and a $1.5 million bond to operate it. A surety bond provides reimbursement if your business fails to adhere to the terms of a contract.
The Connecticut Insurance Department issued a report [PDF] outlining the state's recommended insurance policies for cannabis businesses. However, the specifics depend on your type of business.
Dispensaries in particular should carry general liability insurance, which they might need to sign a commercial lease, a loan, or a contract. This policy covers the most common risks of owning a small business, such as lawsuits from customers who suffer an injury or property damage at your shop.
To comply with Connecticut law, your business needs to carry workers’ compensation insurance if you have employees, and commercial auto insurance for any business-owned vehicles.
Keep in mind that although Connecticut has approved cannabis for medical and recreational use, each city and town is permitted to decide whether or not to allow cannabis businesses. For example, the towns of Clinton, Monroe, and Groton have banned recreational cannabis businesses.
In short, you’ll need to research your state, county, and city laws to make sure your dispensary or other cannabis business is obeying the rules.
Cannabis businesses in Connecticut face numerous risks, such as theft, fires, and lawsuits. Dispensary owners should also consider the following policies:
While these are a top priority for cannabis sellers, they aren’t the only policies you need to run a business, You can always chat with our dedicated insurance agent if you’re unsure which policies you need.
Beyond obtaining a bond, there are several other requirements for running a cannabis facility in Connecticut.
Perhaps most important, you need a license from the DCP to open a dispensary or other cannabis business. To keep that license, you need to follow the DCP’s rules about selling, storing, and transporting cannabis.
For example, Connecticut requires cannabis businesses to:
Make sure to read the full list of Connecticut's requirements to be sure you’re in compliance with the complete list of laws and regulations for Connecticut.
If you run a dispensary, you can complete Insureon’s easy online application to get quotes from top U.S. carriers. For other cannabis businesses, you can call our dedicated agent to find insurance quotes for your business. Once you find a policy that fits your needs, you can begin coverage in less than 24 hours.