Commercial auto insurance covers legal fees and other expenses if a business-owned vehicle is involved in an accident. It's required for all commercial vehicles in South Carolina.
Any South Carolina company that uses vehicles for business purposes must insure them appropriately. Commercial auto insurance covers vehicles owned by your business, while hired and non-owned auto insurance (HNOA) covers personal, rented, and leased vehicles used by your business.
Your personal auto insurance policy covers you while driving to and from work, but not while making deliveries, picking up supplies, and other work-specific uses. A business auto policy would cover you and your personal vehicle in case you’re at fault for an accident during a work-related errand.
Your business could be in legal and financial jeopardy without commercial auto insurance coverage. In South Carolina, all vehicles are required to carry auto liability insurance.
If one of your business vehicles is at fault in an accident, you could face an expensive lawsuit or settlement. You’d likely have to pay for damage to the other vehicle or property, medical costs, lost wages, pain and suffering, plus other related costs.
All drivers in South Carolina must either pay an uninsured motorist fee or have a car insurance policy. You could face severe penalties for not carrying auto insurance. Driving without coverage in South Carolina could result in needing to pay a $550 uninsured motorist fee, a fine between $100 and $200, a suspension of license plates and/or vehicle registration, or potentially up to 30 days imprisonment.
From Charleston to Columbia, all vehicles in the state of South Carolina are required to carry auto liability insurance coverage, whether they’re for personal or business use.
South Carolina's minimum requirements for auto liability insurance (and uninsured motorist coverage) are:
Your insurance agency might recommend higher policy limits based on the types of vehicles you own and how they’re used.
Semi-trucks, tractor-trailers, and other vehicles with a South Carolina Department of Transportation serial number will have additional liability coverage requirements, depending on the type of vehicle and how it’s used.
You can see if your business needs these additional requirements by checking your USDOT number or docket number with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.
If you’re using your own vehicle for work-specific activities, your personal auto policy wouldn’t cover you in the case of an accident. That’s why many small business owners purchase hired and non-owned auto insurance (HNOA). This liability policy covers accidents in personal, leased, and rented vehicles used for work purposes.
If you or an employee gets into an accident while driving a personal car for a work errand, your HNOA coverage would help pay for any claims or lawsuits against your business. However, this type of insurance will not cover damage to the vehicle used by your business.
While every South Carolina business owner must meet the minimum requirements for business auto insurance, this mandate only applies to liability coverage. This can protect you if one of your vehicles causes an accident, but it does not insure you against a mishap caused by someone else.
It’s worth considering these additional coverage options for your auto policy to make sure you’re fully protected:
Insureon makes it easy for business owners to compare quotes for South Carolina commercial auto insurance. Complete one easy application to review quotes specific to your business and industry from leading U.S. insurance carriers. Start an application for commercial auto insurance quotes today.