Learn about business insurance requirements and the most common policies for personal trainers in Florida.
Which policies are required for personal trainers in Florida?
If you have a commercial lease, your property manager may require you to purchase general liability insurance. Commonly purchased by personal trainers in Florida, general liability insurance can protect your business from expenses associated with common mishaps, such as client property damage and injuries.
State law in Florida requires every small business with four or more employees to provide workers’ compensation insurance, which covers medical bills for work injuries.
What are the most common policies for personal trainers in Florida?
The most common policies for personal trainers in Florida vary depending on the value of your business property, the number of employees, and other factors.
Business owner’s policy
Personal trainers often qualify for a business owner’s policy. This package helps your business save money by bundling commercial property insurance with general liability insurance at an affordable rate. It protects your business property and guards against common third-party lawsuits, making it the policy most often recommended by Insureon’s licensed agents.
General liability insurance
General liability insurance is the foundation of a personal trainer’s business protection, with coverage that extends to accidental client injuries, client property damage, and advertising injuries. Most commercial leases require you to have this coverage.
Workers' compensation insurance
Florida state law requires workers’ compensation coverage for all small businesses that employ four or more workers. Even if you’re a sole proprietor, workers’ comp can make smart business sense.
Personal trainers are at risk for a wide range of injuries, from muscle sprains to broken toes from a dropped barbell. If you’re injured on the job and sidelined for an extended length of time, your business could suffer significant financial loss. Workers’ comp can help pay for your medical bills and lost wages.
Professional liability insurance
Professional liability insurance for personal trainers can cover legal expenses related to work mistakes, such as a client who claims your weight-lifting technique led to injury. If you’re sued for unsatisfactory results or a client injury, this policy will help pay the cost of hiring a lawyer, along with a settlement or court-ordered judgment.
What do personal trainers in Florida pay for business insurance?
According to an analysis of Insureon applications, professional liability and general liability policies are on par with national rates, while personal trainers in Florida will likely pay more for a business owner’s policy and workers’ compensation insurance.
For example, the median annual cost of general liability insurance for a personal trainer in Florida is $350, the same as the national median. The median annual cost of workers' compensation insurance for Florida personal trainers is $1,526, more than the national median of $1,361.
Save time and money with Insureon
Insureon’s industry-leading technology helps personal trainers in Florida save time and money shopping for insurance by comparing policies from top U.S. carriers. Start a free online application to review quotes for the policies that best fit your business. Our insurance agents are licensed in Florida and can answer your questions as you consider coverage.
To make the application go quicker, have this information ready:
- Workforce details, such as the number and types of employees
- Current and projected revenue
- Business partnerships
- Insurance history and prior claims
- Commercial lease insurance requirements
Apply for free insurance quotes for personal trainers today.