Cannabis Business Insurance in Florida
Cannabis Dispensary
Hand holding marijuana plant
Choose from the nation's best insurance providers
Logos of Insureon's business insurance carrier partners

Cannabis dispensary insurance in Florida

Every state has different laws about if and how cannabis can be sold, and Florida is no exception. Currently, cannabis is only legal for medicinal use in Florida. Dispensaries must have a $5 million performance bond, or a $2 million bond if they have more than 1,000 patients.

What types of insurance do Florida dispensaries need?

All small businesses in Florida, including medical marijuana treatment centers (MMTCs), are required to have:

In addition, Florida statutes stipulate that dispensaries must have a $5 million performance bond, a specific type of surety bond.

A medical marijuana treatment center with 1,000 or more qualified patients only needs to show proof of a $2 million bond.

What other types of business insurance do I need for my cannabis dispensary?

Performance bonds, workers' comp, and auto insurance are legally the only insurance policies that Florida cannabis dispensary owners must carry.

However, several other policies are highly recommended to protect against the significant risks of running a medical marijuana treatment center:

What are the laws and requirements for cannabis businesses in Florida?

The law around recreational cannabis use in the state of Florida is a hotly contested political topic. Medicinal use has been legal since 2016, while recreational use has been petitioned by Florida residents but has yet to be legalized.

To purchase medical marijuana, Florida residents must have a qualifying medical condition, such as Crohn's disease, cancer, or PTSD. They'll need to work with a doctor to obtain a Medical Marijuana Use Registry ID card.

If you want to open a cannabis business, you’ll need to abide by a set of requirements set forth by the state of Florida, including:

  • Obtain a license with the Florida Department of Health and pay a fee of $60,830
  • Prove the ability to obtain the storefront, employees, and merchandise
  • Demonstrate the financial means to operate for two years
  • Have a medical director on staff to oversee operations
  • Implement a diversity plan to ensure adequate minority and veteran representation
  • Establish a computer system that tracks all marijuana products
  • Obtain a food permit if edible products are sold

Requirements and restrictions vary by city and county, so it's important to check local laws. Some counties, such as Minneola and Collier, have completely banned dispensaries within their borders, even for medicinal purposes.

It should also be noted that, as of 2024, Florida is not currently accepting new applications for medical marijuana treatment centers.

How can I get business insurance for my Florida dispensary?

If you're looking to insure your dispensary, start Insureon's easy online application, and one of our licensed insurance agents will contact you with quotes from top U.S. carriers.

For other cannabis businesses, you can call our dedicated agent at (872) 260-5150 to get insurance quotes for your business. Most insurance policies begin in less than 24 hours.

Verified business insurance reviews

Hear from customers like you who purchased small business insurance.

Updated: April 10, 2024
Get insurance quotes for cannabis dispensaries
Save money by comparing insurance quotes from multiple carriers.
Is business insurance required by law?Why do I need business insurance?Why do cultivators need insurance?How do I get cheap business insurance?How to get business insurance: A step-by-step guideSurety bonds for cannabis businesses