Learn about business insurance requirements and the most common policies for personal trainers in California.
Which policies are required for personal trainers in California?
If you have a commercial lease, your property manager may require you to purchase general liability insurance. Commonly purchased by personal trainers in California, general liability insurance can protect your business from expenses associated with common mishaps, such as client property damage and injuries.
State law in California requires every small business with employees to provide workers’ compensation insurance, which covers medical bills for work injuries.
What are the most common policies for personal trainers in California?
The most common policies for personal trainers in California vary depending on the value of your business property, the number of employees, and other factors.
Business owner's policy (BOP)
Personal trainers often qualify for a business owner’s policy. This package helps your business save money by bundling commercial property insurance with general liability insurance at an affordable rate. It protects your business property and guards against common third-party lawsuits, making it the policy most often recommended by Insureon’s licensed agents.
General liability insurance
General liability insurance is the foundation of a personal trainer’s business protection, with coverage that extends to accidental client injuries, client property damage, and advertising injuries. Most commercial leases require you to have this coverage.
California workers' compensation
If you own a personal training business in California that has employees, you are required to carry workers’ compensation coverage. In fact, you can be fined up to $100,000 for failing to provide this coverage. Workers’ comp can help pay for medical bills and lost wages after a hyper-extended knee, sprained muscle, or other work-related injury.
Professional liability insurance
Professional liability insurance for personal trainers can cover legal expenses related to work mistakes, such as a client who claims your technique led to injury. If you’re sued for unsatisfactory results or a client injury, this policy will help pay the cost of hiring a lawyer, along with a settlement or court-ordered judgment.
What do personal trainers in California pay for business insurance?
According to an analysis of Insureon applications, the typical personal trainer in California can expect to pay premiums similar to the national median for business insurance. For example, the median annual premium for a business owner’s policy is $725, slightly less than the national median of $754.
However, the median annual cost of workers’ compensation insurance for a personal trainer in California is $4,235, significantly more than the national median of $1,361. The cost depends on the number of employees; personal training businesses in California likely hire more employees than the national median.
Save time and money with Insureon
Insureon’s industry-leading technology helps personal trainers in California save time and money shopping for insurance by comparing policies from top U.S. carriers. Start a free online application to review quotes for the policies that best fit your business. Our insurance agents are licensed in California and can answer your questions as you consider coverage.
To make the application go quicker, have this information ready:
- Workforce details, such as the number and types of employees
- Current and projected revenue
- Business partnerships
- Insurance history and prior claims
- Commercial lease insurance requirements
Apply for free insurance quotes for personal trainers today.