Learn about business insurance requirements and the most common policies for personal trainers in Georgia.
Which policies are required for personal trainers in Georgia?
If you have a commercial lease, your property manager may require you to purchase general liability insurance. Commonly purchased by personal trainers in Georgia, general liability insurance can protect your business from expenses associated with common mishaps, such as client property damage and injuries.
State law in Georgia requires every small business that regularly employs three or more people to provide workers’ compensation insurance, which covers medical bills for work injuries.
What are the most common policies for personal trainers in Georgia?
The most common policies for personal trainers in Georgia vary depending on the value of your business property, the number of employees, and other factors.
Business owner's policy (BOP)
Personal trainers often qualify for a business owner’s policy. This package helps your business save money by bundling commercial property insurance with general liability insurance at an affordable rate. It protects your business property, including exercise equipment, and guards against common third-party lawsuits. A BOP is the policy most often recommended by Insureon’s licensed agents.
General liability insurance
General liability insurance is the foundation of a personal trainer’s business protection, with coverage that extends to accidental client injuries, client property damage, and advertising injuries. Most commercial leases require you to have this coverage.
Georgia workers' compensation
If you own a personal training business in Georgia that has three or more employees, you are required to carry workers’ compensation coverage. If an employee is injured on the job, workers’ comp can help pay for medical fees and lost wages. Independent contractors and sole proprietors can cover themselves under a workers’ compensation policy, but legally they are not required to do so.
Professional liability insurance
Professional liability insurance for personal trainers can cover legal expenses related to work mistakes, such as a client who claims your lifting technique led to injury. If you’re sued for unsatisfactory results or a client injury, this policy will help pay the cost of hiring a lawyer, along with a settlement or court-ordered judgment.
What do personal trainers in Georgia pay for business insurance?
Georgia’s favorable cost of living and doing business extends to its business insurance costs, which are lower overall than the national median, according to an analysis of Insureon applications.
For example, personal trainers in Georgia can expect to pay $485 for a BOP, which is significantly less than the national median premium of $754. The median annual cost of workers' compensation for a Georgia personal trainer is $1,254, which is about $100 less than the national median.
Save time and money with Insureon
Insureon’s industry-leading technology helps personal trainers in Georgia save time and money shopping for insurance by comparing policies from top U.S. carriers. Start a free online application to review quotes for the policies that best fit your business. Our insurance agents are licensed in Georgia and can answer your questions as you consider coverage.
To make the application go quicker, have this information ready:
- Workforce details, such as the number and types of employees
- Current and projected revenue
- Business partnerships
- Insurance history and prior claims
- Commercial lease insurance requirements
Apply for free insurance quotes for personal trainers today.