Workers' Compensation Laws in Pennsylvania
In Pennsylvania, workers' compensation insurance coverage is mandatory for all employers who have one or more employees, whether they're part-time or full-time. Employees who are also family members must be covered as well.
PA Workers' Comp: Key Details
- For sole proprietors, partners, and corporate officers in PA, being covered by workers' comp is optional.
- Workers' compensation is compulsory for all employments except for:
- Any person who is a licensed real estate salesperson or broker, or a licensed insurance agent who works on a commission-only basis
- Domestic or casual labor
- Outworkers (someone who receives articles for at-home cleaning, repair, etc.)
- Farmers with one employee who works fewer than 30 days a year or earns less than $1,200 a year
- A spouse or a child of the farmer employer under 18 years of age
- Members of certain religious sects whose beliefs prohibit insurance benefits (though the sect must make provisions for its members)
- Pennsylvania operates a competitive state fund: the State Workers Insurance Fund (SWIF). You may purchase insurance through the state fund, self-insure, or procure coverage from a private insurer.
- In Pennsylvania, there are steep penalties for not carrying workers' compensation. Intentional noncompliance is a felony of the third degree. It can result in a fine of $15,000 and up to seven years in jail.
For more information about workers' comp in Pennsylvania, visit the state's Department of Labor and Industry.