Workers' Compensation Laws in Iowa
Iowa's laws dictate that most employers are required to purchase Workers' Compensation Insurance. Most employees who are injured in Iowa, working under contract of hire made in Iowa, or whose employment is principally localized in Iowa, are eligible for benefits if they have a job-related injury. Independent contractors are not considered employees.
IA Workers' Comp: Key Details
- Sole proprietors are exempt from coverage, but may elect to cover themselves with their Workers' Comp policy.
- Exempt and non-covered employees include…
- Domestic and casual employees who earn less than $1,500 from their employer during the 12 consecutive months prior to the injury.
- Agricultural employees whose employer has a cash payroll of less than $2,500 in the calendar year preceding the injury.
- Exchange labor in agricultural employment.
- The president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer of a family farm corporation, as well as their spouses, and the parents, brothers, sisters, children, stepchildren (and spouses of those family members) of either the officers or their spouses.
- Police officers and fire fighters who are entitled to benefits under pension funds established by Iowa Code chapters 410 and 411.
- Members of a limited liability company (LLC).
- Iowa does not have a state fund for Workers' Compensation Insurance. Coverage must be purchased through a private insurance provider. Alternately, if your company qualifies, you are may be able to self-insure.
Further details about Workers' Compensation laws in Iowa are available at Iowa Workforce Development.