Workers' Compensation Laws in Illinois
In nearly every work situation, Illinois law requires employers to carry workers' compensation coverage. Even if you have only one part-time employee, you must provide coverage.
IL Workers' Comp: Key Details
- Sole proprietors in IL can purchase workers' comp for themselves, but they are not required to unless they have employees of any kind.
- Employees who are family members also must be insured unless…
- They are bona fide corporate officers.
- They work for an agricultural enterprise that employs less than 400 working days of labor per year.
- They are immediate family members who reside with the employer.
- If your company is in the construction business, trucking business operating at a construction site, or another extra-hazardous occupation, you should be aware that in almost all instances Illinois requires you to obtain insurance.
- Illinois doesn't have a state workers' comp fund. Insurance must be purchased through a commercial insurance company or provided for through self-insurance.
- In Illinois, failure to carry workers’ comp insurance carries a misdemeanor charge, but willfully failing to obtain insurance is a felony. Intentional noncompliance could result in a fine of up $500 per day, with a minimum of $10,000.
Still have questions about Illinois workers' comp laws? Visit the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission.