CALIFORNIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION LAW REVIEW
California law requires employers to have Workers' Compensation Insurance if they have even one employee (corporate officers and directors included).
CA Workers' Comp: Key Details
- Sole proprietors in California can purchase WC for themselves.
- CA sole proprietors can opt out of WC coverage only if they don't have any employees.
- If you are a roofer and don't have any employees, you are still required to carry Workers' Compensation in California.
- The State Fund's pricing is based on the classification, payroll size, and individual risk characteristics of each business.
- In CA, failing to have Workers' Compensation coverage is a criminal offense, punishable by either…
- A fine of up to $10,000, OR
- Imprisonment in the county jail for up to one year, OR
- California also issues fines of up to $100,000 against illegally uninsured employers.
- Workers' Comp is available through private insurance providers, but if you can't find someone who will insure your business, you can purchase coverage through California's State Compensation Insurance Fund.
Get more details about California's Workers' Comp regulations at CA.gov's Workers' Compensation FAQ page.