MINNESOTA WORKERS' COMPENSATION LAW REVIEW
Unlike most other states, Minnesota does not provide any waiver to any employers. All employers are legally required to provide insurance coverage to all their employees, including non-US citizens and minors.
MN Workers' Comp: Key Details
- Sole proprietors, partners, and corporate officers in Minnesota are excluded from compulsory coverage, but may elect to be included in their policy.
- Some exceptions include…
- Family farm operations (see Minnesota's Department of Labor and Industry site for more details).
- Casual / infrequent employees.
- Household workers who earn less than $1,000 cash during a business quarter.
- Veterans organization officers and members attending meetings and conventions.
- Nonprofit associations with a total annual payroll for all employees of less than $1,000.
- People covered under the Domestic Volunteer Service Act of 1973 (Vista volunteers, foster grandparents).
- There is no state-funded Workers' Comp pool in MN, but insurance can be purchased through a private insurer. Eligible businesses may self-insure with the proper filing.
For more information on Workers' Comp requirements for Minnesota businesses, check out the resources from the state's Department of Labor and Industry.