MAINE WORKERS' COMPENSATION LAW REVIEW
Does your business have one or more employees? If so, Maine's laws mandate that you provide Workers' Compensation Insurance coverage. Independent contractors do not count as employees, but if those contractors employ subcontractors, the subcontractors must be covered by a Workers' Comp policy.
ME Workers' Comp: Key Details
- Sole proprietors, partners, and LLC members in Maine are excluded from coverage, but can include themselves in their Workers' Comp policy.
- Maine employers who are not required to carry Workers' Comp coverage include…
- Employers who have employees engaged in agriculture or aquaculture as seasonal or casual laborers, so long as the employer maintains at least $25,000 in Employer's Liability Insurance, with at least $5,000 in medical payments coverage.
- Employers of six or fewer agricultural or aquacultural laborers, so long as the employer maintains Employer's Liability Insurance of at least $100,000 multiplied by the number of full-time equivalent employees and has at least $5,000 in medical payments coverage.
- Employers of domestic servants in a private home.
- Sole proprietors who don't have employees.
- You may purchase coverage through Maine Employers Mutual Insurance Company, a competitive state fund. You may also self-insure (if eligible) or purchase insurance through a commercial insurance provider.
Still wondering how Maine's Workers' Comp laws apply to you? Check out the information available from the Maine Workers' Compensation Board.