KANSAS WORKERS' COMPENSATION LAW REVIEW
Kansas's law requires all employers to carry Workers' Compensation Insurance, unless your business is involved in certain agricultural areas or has a gross annual payroll of less than $20,000. All payroll is factored in this rule, including that paid in Kansas and elsewhere, including the pay of executive officers. If the Kansas employer is a sole proprietor or a partnership, wages paid to the owners and any owners' family members are not counted toward the $20,000.
KS Workers' Comp: Key Details
- Sole proprietors, partners, and LLC members in Kansas are exempt from coverage, but can elect to be included in the Workers' Compensation policy.
- Independent contractors with no employees may choose to exempt themselves from carrying Workers' Compensation Insurance. However, if they do employ workers, once their total gross payroll exceeds $20,000, they must provide the coverage for those employees.
- Family members who are not true owners of the company or who do not own 10 percent of the business must be included in the coverage, according to Kansas law. They cannot elect to be excluded.
- Insurance must be purchased through a private insurance company unless you are eligible for self-insurance.
Still have questions about Workers' Comp requirements in Kansas? Visit the Kansas Department of Labor for more details.